Aspen Books History

Aspen Books was founded in 1990 by a group of five investors in Murray, Utah. The general manager was Stan Zenk, and Curtis Taylor served as its first managing editor. After several ownership changes, the company is now owned and managed by Curtis Taylor and is based in the fast-growing community of Santaquin, Utah.

Over the years, Aspen and its sister companies have been the home of numerous distinguished authors, including a Pulitzer-prize winner (Laurel Thatcher Ulrich), three New York Times #1 best-selling writers (Orson Scott Card, Betty J. Eadie, and Curtis Taylor), a Mormon History Association winner (Maureen Ursenbach Beecher). The list also includes Senator Jake Garn, Paul Dunn, Dean Hughes, Margaret Blair Young, and other Latter-Day Saint scholars and educators. Aspen Books and its sister companies (Gold Leaf Press, Buckaroo Books, and Worldwide Publishers) have sold millions of copies of their books in nearly 40 languages around the world.

Newly reconstituted, Aspen Books continues to work with both new and established authors, serving both the general market and members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Its doors are open for new submissions from talented writers in the English language around the world.